Skip to content


Compass points are traditionally composed of cardinal directions and intercardinal directions, which are produced by dividing the cardinal directions.

Cardinal directions

Cardinal directions refer to the primary points of a compass.

English Finnish
North, 0° / 360° Pohjoinen
East, 90° Itä
South, 180° Etelä
West, 270° Länsi

Intercardinal directions

Intercardinal directions, also known as intermediate directions, refer to the points between cardinal directions.

English Finnish
Northeast, 45° Koillinen
Southeast, 135° Kaakko
Southwest, 225° Lounas
Northwest, 315° Luode