Skip to content


Compass points are traditionally composed of cardinal directions and intercardinal directions, which are produced by dividing the cardinal directions.

Cardinal directions

Cardinal directions refer to the primary points of a compass.

North, 0° / 360° Pohjoinen
East, 90° Itä
South, 180° Etelä
West, 270° Länsi

Intercardinal directions

Intercardinal directions, also known as intermediate directions, refer to the points between cardinal directions.

Northeast, 45° Koillinen
Southeast, 135° Kaakko
Southwest, 225° Lounas
Northwest, 315° Luode